Potty Progress   Leave a comment

So I know that as soon as I write this post, that Ethan will probably take a step or two backwards, but its worth it to me.  You see, we have been struggling with this whole potty process.  First off, I will say that Ethan is very eager to go potty, which is great, but at the same time, Nathan will scream if I make him sit on the potty.

I have finally decided that the only way that they will ever get potty trained is to let them go at their own pace, and just because they are twins doesn’t mean that they have to do things at the same time.  They never have, so why would they start now? Ethan crawled 3 months before Nathan, and just as Nathan started to crawl, Ethan was walking. That’s just how my twins are.  Ethan is older and has always hit the developmental milestones months ahead of Nathan.

Yesterday, I had to take Ethan to the doctor because he is feeling a little under the weather, so off we went.  Nathan stayed home with my in-laws.  Despite Ethan not feeling all that well, I had a great day alone with him, and I need to start making it a point to get a day out of the house with them alone, its great one on one time!  Anyway, after we went to the doctor’s office, we went to lunch, and of course he had to Pee.  He seems to like going to the bathroom in different places.  And I will add that 6 out of 10 times he will actually go pee. So after lunch we had to go to walmart, because lets face it, as a family of 6, we can’t go out-of-town without hitting up walmart to restock everything.  When we first got to walmart, he had to pee.  We went, he went pee and we went back to shopping.  Not even 15 minutes later, he had to pee again.  I thought he was foolish, so as the good mom that I am, I said can you hold it for a minute? We were on the opposite side of the store from the bathroom, and I only needed a few things.  So as we were heading back towards the bathroom, he said “Mama I need pee now pease” so off we went, to the bathroom.  And much to my surprise, he actually did have to pee!  This whole time we were out-of-town for the day, he stayed DRY!  It was a miracle.

When we got home he asked to pee again, and again, he was dry and sat and went pee!  I know it sounds silly to be so excited about him finally getting the hang of it, but I couldn’t be happier.  He continued to stay dry until bedtime, and the first thing he asked to do this morning when he got up was to pee.  Now so far today, he has had 1 wet diaper, and that was because Daddy was in the bathroom and he couldn’t hold it any longer, and I felt horrible, but he won’t sit on the little potty seat, he will only sit on the toilet like a big kid.  He makes me so proud and I know that it could just be a one day thing, or a couple of day thing, but I really think that he is finally getting the hang of it.  Now if I could only get him to poop in the potty, I would be all set!

 

Posted February 16, 2011 by mytwotornados in Ethan, Nathan

Leave a Reply

