I can’t beleive they treat me like this…   1 comment

So, we have my step kids every other weekend and every Tuesday and Thursday afternoons after school.  I do a lot of the driving (25 miles each way) to get them and my husband takes them home. Since my husband is a lobster fisherman, then most days he isn’t home from the boat to go, or he would go get them and take them home himself, but I try to help.

There aren’t many days on the weekends when we have the kids, that my husband will have to go to Haul, but today is one of the first days in a long time that this has happened and I wish I could be the one working.  Most of the time when my husband is home the kids will be good and everyone will get along. There are some days that nothing goes right and everyone fights with everyone else. Its def. not my favorite type of day, but things can’t go smoothly everyday. Or at least they never have here.

As soon as my husband leaves the house all hell breaks loose. Well I can’t say that, I should say that as soon as the kids are all up, that’s when all hell breaks loose.  You see since Jason is a lobster fisherman, then he is up and out of the house usually around 5. The twins woke up around 6:30 and my step daughter woke up about 7 and my step son woke up around 8:30. As soon as the older kids were awake the day went down hill.  You see, they think that without their dad around they can do anything they want and say anything they want, no matter if they are told not to or not! It drives me nuts!

Since the older kids have gotten up they have been talking back to me, lying to me, and have been disrespectful to me. They don’t care how they talk to me, they don’t care if they hurt my feelings. They get the boys in trouble because they tell them to do things that they shouldn’t do and lets face it, the boys are still young enough so they try to do everything they are told to do. I know someday they will realize that what they are being told to do is wrong, I just don’t know when that someday will be.  It really frustrates me to have to raise my voice so they will listen, or for them to do things that they know they shouldn’t do and think they can get away with it.  They promised my husband they would be good for me today while he was gone and I’m still waiting for them to be good.  After yesterday when he was home and we had a great day I had high hopes of everything going smoothly!

We had a GREAT day yesterday, we had some friends/family over for supper and all the kids carved pumpkins. For the most part while our company was here the kids were good. Minus them doing some things that they knew they should, like sliding down the stairs. But all in all things went good. Everyone had fun!

And I guess this is how they are repaying me for such a fun day yesterday! My husband didn’t really want to carve pumpkins, but I thought that they would enjoy it and they did. They seemed to have a great time! I just don’t know how much more of being treated like this i can handle.  If my husband has to work while the kids are here, which doesn’t happen that often but if the weather is bad during the week he is left with no choice but to go to haul on the weekend, then they either have to stay here with me or sometimes they go to my mother-in-laws house. But that doesn’t happen that often either as she is very busy herself.  The only other option is to make them go home early and not have to deal with it. I really don’t want it to come to that, having to make them go home after 1 day here when they usually get 2, but I am at my wits end. I can’t take much more of being walked all over just because there Dad isn’t here.  Not to mention the fact that the boys see them treating me this way and talking badly to me and they copy them.  Lets not get me started on the boys picking up on their older siblings Lying, that is a whole other blog post!

So what would you do?

Posted October 23, 2011 by mytwotornados in Ethan, Nathan, step kids

One response to “I can’t beleive they treat me like this…

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This makes me think of my house. Five yr old, three yr old twins, and infant. It’s nutty all the time. Good days bad days and anywhere in between. I think kids just test limits no matter what age, yours biologically or not. Granted I say that not from experience but just from how similar your situation sounds.

Leave a Reply

