Archive for August 14, 2012

Transitions   Leave a comment

It seems like every time i turn around, the boys are going thru a transition of some sorts. I mean they went from sharing a crib to sleeping in separate cribs.  And they didn’t mind. Then they went from bottles to sippy cups. This, we struggled with.  It seems like it took me forever to find a cup that they liked.  I think I tried everything I could find, until I gave in and bought the ones I thought for sure they wouldn’t like.  And turns out I was wrong, they loved them.  One of the next transitions we had was going from cribs to toddler beds.  We got lucky when we got their cribs, they each transitioned into toddler beds.  That was a rather easy transition as well.  They knew they couldn’t get out of their bed and roam freely.  They knew that bedtime ment they had to lay down and go to sleep.  They knew that I was just a few steps away from them, all they had to do was speak to me, and I would hear them on the monitor and come to them if they needed something. I was expecting the worse with that transition, I mean, first off they share a room and I thought for sure they would test us and try to get out and play.
The next transition was from diapers to underwear.  I was not looking forward to potty training.  I think this was harder on me then it was on them.  That is, once I figured out that there was no way they were going to potty train together.  I mean sure, I’m sure a lot of twins do things like this together, but not my twins.  Ethan made this transition quickly.  I’m talking less than 1 week, and he was staying dry even at night and would cry when I put a pull-up on him at night because he didn’t need it.  So after a couple of days of staying dry and night, I put him to bed in underwear and we’ve never looked back.  Sure, we have had our share of accidents, but I think that comes with any child.  I didn’t think I was ever going to get Nathan trained.  Ethan was trained shortly after they turned 3 in May.  Nathan had NO interest at all.  We would try and try and nothing worked.  I gave up on more than one occasion. Finally on New Year’s Day, I said this is it, I am sick of changing pull-ups every few hours.  And when he got up that morning I put him in underwear.  I’m not saying it was as easy as it was with Ethan, but it was easier than I thought it would be.  For one thing, when I trained Ethan we were living at the old house, and we had a bathroom on the first floor, here we weren’t so lucky.  Our only bathroom is on the second floor and we mad a ton of trips up and down the steps.  There were accidents but again, nothing like I had anticipated. He made me proud, that’s for sure.  Within 10 days, he was completely trained for day time.  He would go on long stretches of staying dry at night and then he would be wet for a few mornings in a row.  Finally I told him, if he could stay dry for 7 nights in a row, then the next night he could wear underwear to bed, just like Ethan.  That’s all it took.  He stayed dry for those 7 nights and on the next night, he said “I get to wear underwear just like my Ethan” and he was so excited.  But wouldn’t you know it, that on that first night wearing underwear to bed, he had an accident.  He woke up the next morning in tears, but I didn’t make a big deal of it, and told him that he could still wear big boy underwear to bed.  And that was on April 1.  We have been mostly dry at night ever since then, with the occasional accident in the night, but not that often.  And they both amaze me because there are not many nights that they wake us up to go Pee in the night.  Usually they sleep right thru until at least 5:30, sometimes later before getting up to use the bathroom.  And on those mornings, I count my lucky stars that they usually go back to sleep for an hour or longer!

Our next transition was from toddler beds to twin size beds.  This happened sooner than we had planned on it happening but when you have children who are very tall for their age it happens.  Nathan ran out of room.  Every time he rolled over at night he was awake and that ment no sleep for Mommy and I wasn’t having that.  So off to the furniture store we went and bunk beds it was.  We ordered them, and my step son agreed to sleep on the top bunk, so Ethan went on the bottom bunk, and Nathan went in my step son’s twin bed. It was comforting to know that we were back to sleeping thru the night!! But now our problem is that the bunk beds are very poorly crafted.  They keep falling apart and we are afraid that Ethan, sleeping in the bottom bunk will be hurt.  So the bunk beds are going away. We are saying goodbye to the bunk beds on Thursday, and we are getting a trundle-bed.  Tyler is going back in his twin bed and Ethan and Nathan will share the trundle.  I’m not sure who is sleeping where yet, we’ll let them decide once they get here on Thursday.  But I’m hoping this transition will go as easily as all the others have.

One more transition that we have made recently, is that we have gotten rid of all of our sippy cups.  Last friday (8/10/12) when we got up I opened the cupboard and a couple of cups fell out at me.  And I thought, its time.  So I poured them each a half of a glass of milk and said, your cups stay at the table and you need to drink slowly, there’s no cover.  We have had little spills but nothing major.  And the boys are great about leaving them on the table.  I decided to keep 2 sippy cups, but just for when we are out of the house, I’m not to big on them having open containers in my vehicle, although, I’m sure that will happen soon enough.  My husband learned the hard lesson while I was at a baby shower on sunday, only put as much in the cups as you are willing to clean up…

Our next transition will be a move to a new house, again. and then the next transition will be school starting, 3 weeks from today! That last transition may be a little harder on me then it is on them!!

I know I haven’t hit all of the transition that my boys have had, but I have touched base on the important ones.  I think the only really big one I left out is the one were we took away the boys beloved pacifiers!! Which is a post all on its own if anyone is interested…

Posted August 14, 2012 by mytwotornados in Ethan, family, Me, Nathan, step kids