4 years already!   Leave a comment

So I know what your thinking, your thinking didn’t your kids already turn 4 years old? And your right, my twins turned 4 in May.  However today marks a different 4 years for us.  Today is the 4 year anniversary of my babies coming home from the hospital.  I remember that day like it was yesterday! I also remember not sleeping the night before, and I haven’t slept on the night of the 14th since that very year.  I was so excited to finally be bringing my babies home after a long 108 days in the hospital.  Those 108 days were broken down by 99 days in the most incredible NICU in the whole world, which I know is just my opinion, but it’s how I fell, and the other 9 days were spent n pediatrics!

It was a long journey that summer, patiently waiting for my boys to be healthy enough to come home to us.  I spent about 80 of those days at my Mom’s house, which was about 10 minutes away from the hospital, and the other 28 days I spent home getting things ready for them to finally come home.  I remember how badly I cried on the 4 hour car ride home when I made my first trip home without them.  I felt so empty inside.  I didn’t want to leave them at all when they were in the hospital, but I knew that the only way I was going to be able to get the house ready for them to come home was if I came home a few times and got things straightened up and their crib set up and all their clothes washed.  I had never been so happy to get back to the hospital as I was after that first couple of nights away from them.  I noticed such a big difference in them when I got back that time, I think it’s the first time I had seen that they were bigger then they were when they were born.

So tonight, we’ll have cake and ice cream, and I may even get them each a little something as a small gift from “homecoming day.” I think that no matter how old my babies get or how much they continue to grow, August 15th, will always hold a special place in my heart!

Posted August 15, 2012 by mytwotornados in Ethan, Me, Nathan

Leave a Reply

