Hello 2013!   Leave a comment

So I know its been a long time since I have blogged, and I have plenty to blog about. So we’ll catch up here and then I’ll try to do better blogging this year! We’ll see how that goes!

So we moved back in September, and it was a disaster!  After we found the rental that we are currently living in, the people who own the house that we had been renting called the day before they wanted us out and told us that they had changed their mind and that we were expected to stay in that house until they wanted to sell it again..So frustrating! We had already signed a new lease on a better place and everything we had was all packed up! They threatened to take us to court if we didn’t stay, and it was a huge mess. The unfortunate thing about this is that we are friends with relatives of the owners and that has made for an interesting friendship. I mean we couldn’t back out of a newly signed lease, just because they changed their mind. We had so much stuff going on around the time that school started, that it made everything that much harder!
So we got moved and settled in, which was actually good timing, since we moved on the 2nd and 3rd of September, and my babies started Pre-K on the 4th! It was the best distraction I could have asked for.

So as I just said, the boys started school in September, and they have done GREAT! Much better than I had thought that they would, that’s for sure. I expected them to be sad that I had to leave them, but they never cried, which was great for that first drop off at school! I however, was a mess. I held it together until I got out of the school, but then I got driving home and I lost it. I happened to look in my rear view mirror and saw their empty booster seats. It his me so hard that I had to pull over I was crying to hard! Once I got home, I was welcomed to the distraction of having to unpack everything from the move, so that kept me pretty busy. But I was never so happy to see 2:45, so I could walk down to the bus stop at the end of the road and get my babies off the school bus. They came home very happy and it turned out to be the best thing for them.

They love school and they have continued to do so well! They got their first report cards in November, and they got all 3s and 4s! Which is the best you can get. I was impressed, and the 2nd quarter of school ends next Friday, I am looking forward to getting their next report cards to make sure they are still doing so good! On the 22nd of January they will be switching from afternoon pre-k to morning pre-k. This will be interesting I am sure! Especially since most school days I have to wake Nathan up at 8:30 so he can get some breakfast into him before they have lunch, they have to be at school at 11:30, so I usually end up feeding them lunch around 10:45, I don’t really like feeding them lunch so early, but I have no choice. It will be interesting to see how they adjust to getting up around 6:30 everyday, getting dressed and  breakfast right away to get to the bus stop at 7:15. I would bet I end up driving them to school most days, which is ok with me, I won’t mind!

Right after school started, we ended up in the ER with Nathan. He was fooling around with his brother and he slipped running into their bedroom and cracked the back of his head open on the edge of their bedroom door. 3 staples later, he was fine, but I was scared to death! I guess I never realized how bad head wounds bleed, but wow he lost a lot of blood. When we got to the ER the intake nurse actually took the time to argue with me about how old he was. All I could do was say to her “yes I  know he is a big boy, but I swear on his life he is only 4” and she kept saying to me “are you sure he is 4, he looks to be about 7 or maybe 8”  I have never been such a mess. I had blood all over my shirt and jeans and his head was still bleeding, and she was arguing with me….Once we got seen by the doctor and got his head patched up I was fine, but wow, wasn’t I scared! He handled it like a champ tho. The only thing he was upset about was that he had to miss open house at school. Thankfully my mother and father in law were able to come right to out house and take care of Ethan and take him to open house. And we were lucky enough that the boys Pre-K teacher was kind enough to let my husband and I come into the class room the next day at drop off to check everything out! So thankful that we live in such a small community!

Thanksgiving was pretty uneventful. We had my parents up for the long weekend and as soon as my mom and I got our meal cleaned up, we hit the road to go to Bangor for our black Friday shopping! I had so much fun, and I’m pretty sure my Mom did too. We rented a hotel room, so when we got to Bangor we went right to bed! I set the alarm on my phone to get us up around 11 that night and we went and got some food then hit the stores! I laughed so hard! I can’t wait to do it again this year, I already have my room booked! And I was almost done with my Christmas shopping when we got back to my house on Friday afternoon!

Christmas was next and that was great! Everyone was happy with what they got or so it seems! My favorite thing I got was a kitchen Aid stand mixer! I have wanted one for years and my lovely husband decided that this was the year!! I have used it just about every day since I got it! I can’t believe how easy it is to make things with it!

I think that about sums it up for now! I can’t believe it’s already the 11th of January! My how time is flying. I remember before we had the twins everyone said time with fly by once you have kids and I never believed them! But oh my isn’t that the truth!

Posted January 11, 2013 by mytwotornados in Ethan, family, Me, Nathan

Leave a Reply

